Nimitz High School

Nimitz Clubs and Organizations

  • Academic Decathlon

    Academic Decathlon® is a ten-event scholastic competition for teams to compete in math, science, economics, social science, literature, music, art, speech, interview, essay and super quiz.  AD is designed to include students from all academic backgrounds. Contact Mr. Jackson at gjackson@irvingisd.net

     

    AVID Club "Advancement Via Individual Determination".

    AVID is a college-readiness system designed to increase the number of students who enroll in 4 year colleges. AVID Club is for ALL students at Nimitz who want to participate in college activities. Contact Mr. Diehl at tdiehl@irvingisd.net

     

    Ballet Folklorico

    Contact Ms. Morales at mamorales@irvingisd.net     

     

    Band

    Open to all students teaching musical awareness, instrumental technique and competes under the UIL.  This includes Marching Band, Concert Band, Jazz Band, Drumline, Percussion Ensemble, and Colorguard. Contact Mr. Pollard at bpollard@irvingisd.net

     

    Books Anime Manga (BAM)

    BAM meets monthly to discuss young adult novels, anime and watch manga.  Contact Ms. Ballard-Moore at dballard-moore@irvingisd.net or Ms. Johnson at samjohnson@irvingisd.net

     

    Bowling

    Students who participate have a variety of skill and experience in bowling.  Practices are held one night a week at a local bowling center, with competitions held on Saturday’s from December to March.  We compete against other high schools from across the metroplex, and have a district, regional, and state competition bracket.  Our goal is the create interest for the sport of bowling in youth programs, and to create opportunities for students to receive money for their college education through bowling scholarships.  Contact Ms. Johnson at samjohnson@irvingisd.net

     

    Cheerleading

    The cheerleaders support all athletic teams during the school year while also promoting school spirit.  Contact Ms. Trammell at wtrammell@irvingisd.net                        

     

    Choir

    Choir Club is an organization made of all NHS Choirs students as well as students interested in choir but unable to take a formal choir class.  The organization is there to support concerts, activities, and events of the NHS Choir.  It is made of 9th – 12th grade students and anyone can serve as an officer.  The office of the President is for an 11th or 12th grader.  Contact Ms. Merchant at lmerchant@irvingisd.net

     

    Class Officers

    Class Officers are elected in April of for 10th, 11th and 12th grades.  Freshmen class officers are elected in October. 

    Class of 2020 Sponsor - Ms. Schuessler aschuessler@irvingisd.net

    Class of 2019 Sponsor – Ms. Gallemore mgallemore@irvingisd.net

    Class of 2018 Sponsor – Ms. Hernandez/Ms. Parish-Lias lparishlias@irvingisd.net

    Class of 2017 Sponsor – Ms Send msend@irvingisd.net                   

     

    Color Guard

    Color Guard is a combination of art and sport. The members are trained like athletes, but perform as artists. Performers use the elements of expression, and their equipment to tell a story. If you think this activity is for you contact Mr. Ewing at newing@irvingisd.net

     

    Communities In Schools (CIS)

    Communities In Schools is a national, non-profit support program that operates on the campus of Nimitz High School.  CIS’ mission is to surround students with a community of support, empowering them  to stay in school and achieve in life.  The mission of CIS is accomplished by providing a wide range of free services for students as well as their families.  Some of the services provided include: Academic support, social service assistance and referrals, mentors, vouchers for eye exams and glasses, counseling and supportive guidance, college prep, school supplies and much more.  Contact Ms. Lewis at mlewis@irvingisd.net

     

    DECA
    A co-curricular club existing of a group of marketing students that meet to explore marketing opportunities, study for DECA competitions, do community service projects, and travel on field trips..  If you would like to join, you must take a Marketing class. Contact Ms. Mitchell at mamitchell@irvingisd.net         

     

    Drama

    Drama Club strives to entertain, amaze, and awe our peers all the while learning the ancient rules of the stage and performance.  Our goal is to open minds and create experiences for others.  Contact Ms. Bell at lbell@irvingisd.net

     

    Family Career Community Leaders of America (FCCLA)

    FCCLA is a national Career and Technical Student Organization that provides personal growth, leadership development, and career preparation opportunities for students in Family and Consumer Sciences education.  Focusing on the multiple roles of family member, wage earner and community leader, members develop skills for life through: character development, creative and critical thinking, interpersonal communication, practical knowledge, and career preparation.  Contact Mr. McFarland at jmcfarland@irvingisd.net or Whitney Payne at wpayne@irvingisd.net

     

    Fellowship of Christian Athletes

    To present to coaches and athletes, and all whom they influence, the challenge and adventure of receiving Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord, serving him in their relationships and in the fellowship of the church. Activities: Bimonthly meetings in a coaches classroom during the school year.  See You at the Pole-annually in September.  Fields of Faith @ Southlake’s Dragon Stadium-annually in October.  Nimitz Spring event annually in April.  Contact Ms. Shoultz at cshoultz@irvingisd.net

     

    Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)

    Student organization for business students. Contact Ms Garrett at vgarrett@irvingisd.net

     

    Future Farmers of America (FFA)

    The goal/objective of FFA is to develop competent, aggressive, agriculture and community leaders.  The activities that we participate in are leadership development events (LDE’s) in the Fall and Career Development events (CDE’s) in the spring and community involvement (donating, volunteering, etc.) year around.  Contact Mr. Spiller at dspiller@irvingisd.net.

     

    French Club

    Contact Mr. Nkwocha at mnkwocha@irvingisd.net

     

    German Club

    Contact Ms. Venechanos at kvenechanos@irvingisd.net

     

    Graduation Lab

    Grad Labs provides an alternative to a regular classroom for catching up on courses needed for graduation.  Students complete self-paced digital courses using Apex Learning with the help of a certified teacher and content tutors.  Along the way, they develop independent study skills such as note-taking and goal-setting, as well as greater confidence in their own ability to succeed.  

     

    JOURNEYS

    JOURNEYS is a college and career readiness program that helps students achieve success in high school and beyond. Members have opportunities to interact with guest speakers, volunteer, prepare for financial readiness in college, visit college campuses, and much more. Contact Ms. Dodds at tdodds@irvingisd.net

     

    JROTC (Junior Reserve Officers Training Corps)
    The offers students a unique opportunity for personal growth, with an emphasis on American citizenship and history. Courses also help students develop values and personal skills to succeed in school and beyond.  Contact Armando Castellanos at acastellanos@irvingisd.net

     

    Junior Historians

    The purpose of the Junior Historians is to help develop informed, active citizens aware of the past and ready to make their own history.  To that end we offer members a wide variety of volunteer service opportunities, social studies contests, and experiences at local museums and historic sites.  Contact Ms. Milburn at smilburn@irvingisd.net

     

    Lacrosse

    Lacrosse is a contact sport that requires heart and dedication. Some would describe it as a cross between football and soccer with a stick. Our program has only been running for 4 years so we are still growing and evolving.  We meet after school and work hard to prepare for the season on our own time. Our season begins in the spring and we recruit all year. Check out this video to get an idea about what Lacrosse looks like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vi6NcYMn9gc. Contact Mary Anne Send at msend@irvingisd.net

     

     

    Latinos Stand Up

    Latinos Stand Up is a student-led organization that has been at Nimitz High School for over 10 years.  All students are invited to join and attend meetings that are held throughout the year to encourage positive participation of Latinos in the community.  The group also takes field trips to college fairs, universities, and events and places that pertain to the Latino community, such as the Latino Film and Univision studios.  Contact Mr. Santacruz at rsantacruz@irvingisd.net or Ms. Huffman at shuffman@irvingisd.net

     

    National Honor Society

    National Honor Society members have distinguished themselves by committing to the pursuit of academic excellence, community improvement, and personal development.  This organization focuses on service, leadership, and character to help students build the skills and relationships to ensure success throughout their academic years and beyond.  Juniors and seniors must have a cumulative GPA of 90 or higher and the recommendation of faculty and staff to be nominated for membership.  Contact Ms. Brooks at pbrooks@irvingisd.net

     

    National Technical Honor Society

    NTHS honors the achievements of top CTE students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce.  Contact Ms. Garrett at vgarrett@irvingisd.net

     

    Orchestra
    Orchestra is available to students who have orchestra background.  We are looking to continue growing and improving, and we hope that anyone who is eligible will sign up! Contact Sandra Mour at smour@irvingisd.net          

     

    Quill & Scroll

    International honorary society for high school journalists.  Contact Ms. Blue at eblue@irvingisd.net          

     

    Robotics

    The club will begin meeting and competing during the 2015-2016 school year.  Our objective is to promote STEM and CTE through robotic challenges and other team-based robot building activities.  Our goal is to compete in at least one robot competition each year.  All students are welcome. Contact Mr. Davison at ddavison@irvingisd.net or Mr. Garner at kgarner@irvingisd.net

     

    SkillsUSA

    National Career and Technical student organization over 300,000 made up of high school students, college students, and professionals who are enrolled in technical skilled, and service occupations.  The Nimitz chapter of SkillsUSA encompasses students in the AV Technology field.  SkillsUSA builds leadership, citizenship, and employability.  We compete in skills contests against other teams and expand our network and skill levels during the process.  Contact Mr. Jones at majones2@irvingisd.net  

     

    Special Olympics

    Contact Sandra Oremade at soremade@irvingisd.net

     

    Student Council

    Student Government gives students a voice in determining school activities and fosters a positive climate throughout the school.  Members plan and organize school activities and participate in community service projects.  Student council needs hard working, creative, fun loving, responsible students.  Contact Mr. Manale at bmanale@irvingisd.net

     

    Student Library Advisory Council

    SLAC promotes the library, support our programs and offer advice and assistance on everything we do.  Contact Ms. Ballard-Moore at dballard-moore@irvingisd.net or Ms. Johnson at samjohnson@irvingisd.net

     

    Texas Association of Future Educators

    T.A.F.E. is a statewide organization that offers students the opportunity to explore the teaching profession. Activities include tutoring, teacher appreciation, conferences and workshops.  Contact Ms. Barbee at cbarbee@irvingisd.net

     

    University Interscholastic League Academics

    Accounting

    Computer Applications – Ms. Garrett at vgarrett@irvingisd.net

    Current Events – Mr. Diehl at jadiehl01@irvingisd.net

    Extemporaneous Speaking - We combine history, public speaking, and current events into award winning speeches! Contact Ms. Machun at jmachun@irvingisd.net                

    Debate - Ms. Machun at jmachun@irvingisd.net     

    Journalism - Ms. Blue at eblue@irvingisd.net

    Literary Criticism - pending see Ms. Dixon

    Spelling and Vocabulary – Mr. Langsather at blangsather@irvingisd.net

    Ready Writing

    Math, Calculator and Number Sense – pending see Mr. Clark

    Oral Interpretation – 

    Science – pending see Mr. Parker

    Social Studies   

     

    Vikas
    If you love to dance, perform, and be part of an amazing experience, Vikas is for you! We perform at football games, pep rallies, and various other events. They also participate in special events, parades, and a spring show. Contact Ms. Hoganat khogan@irvingisd.net

     

    Viking Crew

    Senior only spirit group.  Contact Ms. Carpenter at lcarpenter@irvingisd.net                

     

     

    Virtual Vikings Gaming Club

    Meets every other week to play pc, console and tabletop games.  Contact Ms. Ballard-Moore at dballard-moore@irvingisd.net or Ms. Johnson at samjohnson@irvingisd.net

     

    Yearbook and Newspaper

    Newspaper students create an online and print school newspaper. Yearbook students create the yearbook.  Students work as reporters, photographers, page designers, and ad salesmen to create the publication.  All publications require hard work, dedication, and the ability to meet deadlines.  Teacher approval is required or must take Journalism as a prerequisite.  Contact Ms. Blue at eblue@irvingisd.net 

     

    NIMITZ ATHLETICS

     


    Athletic Training

    To promote the profession of athletic training and to ensure the health and safety of all Nimitz student athletes.  To provide an opportunity for the study and application of the components of sports medicine including but not limited to: sports medicine related careers, organizational and administrative considerations, prevention of athletic injuries, recognition, evaluation, and immediate care of athletic injuries, rehabilitation and management  skills, taping and wrapping techniques, first aid/CPR/AED, emergency procedures, nutrition, sports psychology, human anatomy and physiology, therapeutic modalities, and therapeutic exercise.  Activities outside of class time include practice and game coverage, holiday parties and educational field trips.  Contact Ms. Shoultz at cshoultz@irvingisd.net

     

    Basketball – Girl’s

    Our Girls Basketball program is rich in winning tradition.   If you want to be a part of a highly competitive and successful program, make your commitment to the Girls Basketball Program.  We will have two freshmen teams, one JV team and one varsity team.  Interested players should contact Coach Evans at anevans@irvingisd.net

     

    Basketball – Boy’s

    The program is very competitive and emphasizes team work, hard work ethic and developing basketball skills. The program focuses on developing the complete student athlete and individual. Contact Coach Donalson at jdonalson@irvingisd.net

     

    Baseball
    Baseball is the ultimate team sport and requires an emphasis on working together to a common goal. Our program works to build on these skills everyday through fundamentals, commitment, and hard work. We will have three teams in the spring and will also have fall baseball teams. Contact Coach Somwang at asomwang@irvingisd.net                    

     

    Cross Country - Boys and Girls

    This team sport is for everybody who enjoys running. Girls run in a 2 mile race and boys run a 3 mile race. If interested, come out to practice Monday - Friday, at 6:30 a.m. to tryout. All paperwork must be completed before training with the team. 

     

    Football
    The Nimitz football team is a highly competitive and recognized program.  We offer two freshman teams, two JV teams and a Varsity team.  Players will have a chance to develop physically, mentally and emotionally, and will develop lifelong skills that will allow them to be successful in any endeavor.  Contact Coach Rogers at brogers01@irvingisd.net

     

    Golf
    Contact Coach Jenkins at mjenkins@irvingisd.net

     

    Gymnastics
    Gymnastics is a competitive program for boys and girls. Members of the team compete against teams throughout Texas. The gymnasts in this class work out at Irving High School at the Irving Gymnastics Center.  Contact Coach Kerestine at Kkerestine@irvingisd.net

     

    Lacrosse

    Contact Coach James Clark at jclark@irvingisd.net

     

     

    Soccer Boy’s

    Boy’s soccer is a program meant for highly skilled players with a desire to achieve on and off the field. The expectation is that a player needs to have the mindset to make the right choice, play hard in respect for the game and be prepared to become better as a person and player on the field and in the classroom. Contact Coach Fullerton at kfullerton@irvingisd.net

     

    Soccer – Girl’s

    School wide tryouts will be held on Monday, Nov. 30th and Tues, Dec. 1st after school. All paperwork must be completed before training with the team, such as a physical, insurance form and emergency contact form. Contact Coach Vasquez at nvasquez@irvingisd.net

     

    Softball

    Softball is a prestigious program that holds tradition. The Nimitz Lady Vikings have made the playoffs 16 out of 21 years.   The number of participation has increased over the years from 22 athletes to 45+ athletes.  We offer a JV2, JV, and Varsity team. Players will be taught softball skills and life lessons.  Contact Coach Williams at deewilliams@irvingisd.net

    Swim Team

    Who should join? Students interested in competitive swimming, who want to be part of a team, and who love to have fun! Practices are at North Lake Aquatic Center from7:00am-8:30am, Monday-Friday. Interested swimmers and divers should contact Coach Gilbert at jgilbert@irvingisd.net         

     

    Tennis
    Contact Coach Diehl at jadiehl01@irvingisd.net

     

    Track – Boy’s

    Contact Coach Fitzgerald at cfitzgerald@irvingisd.net

     

    Track- Girls

    Contact Coach Hampton ahampton@irvingisd.net

     

    Volleyball
    The participants in the volleyball program are expected to consider the team's needs and goals ahead of the individual. Like all worthwhile extra-curricular activities, high school sports require a substantial commitment.  Volleyball demands that individuals work as one, in a fast-paced test of coordination, concentration and cooperation.  Contact Coach Engeldinger at jengeldinger@irvingisd.net

     

    Water Polo

    Water Polo is an exciting fast paced game, played in the pool, that builds great swimming skills and endurance.  Practices are at North Lake Aquatic Center from7:00am-8:30am, Monday-Friday. Contact Coach Gilbert at jgilbert@irvingisd.net 

     

    Wrestling
    Contact Coach Bell at cbell@irvingisd.net

     

    Comments (-1)
CLOSE