• Irving ISD Logo Subpage Header Image

Points of Pride 2020-2021


    August Icon


    Irving ISD welcomes back 32,000 students for remote instruction on August 17, 2020. 

    September Icon


    • Irving ISD welcomes 40 percent of students back to in-person learning for the first time since March 2020.
    • Irving ISD becomes the first district to partner with Texas College Bridge and GreenLight Credentials to help our students become college-ready.
    • Irving ISD Food Services Department surpasses the 1.7 million-mark of “Grab and Go” meals distributed. 

    October Icon


    • Irving ISD signs EcoSafe Labs as an official district partner of the district’s Signature Studies program, elementary and middle schools.
    • Through a partnership with Verizon Innovative Learning Schools, all ninth-grade students receive a FREE iPad.
    • Thomas Haley Elementary School Principal Henry Taylor is named the Maurice and Ruby Walker Educator of the Year by the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Irving-Carrollton chapter.
    • Three MacArthur High School seniors are named National Merit Commended Scholars: Nancy Jimenez, Macie McKee and Saraswati Stocksdale. Additionally, MacArthur's Nancy Jimenez, Michael Espinoza and Liliana Michelle Gonzalez and Heidy Stewart from Nimitz High School have earned the College Board Recognition Program Scholar designation.

    November Icon


    • Irving ISD is ranked No. 1 in highest salaries for teachers with 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of experience by the United Educators Association.
    • Three Irving ISD cross country runners (Mariela Tovar and Alfonso Samaniego of Irving and Laura Marquez of Macarthur) compete at the regional meet in Lubbock.

    December Icon   


    • Four Irving ISD seniors are among the 1,464 scholars nationwide to receive a 2020 QuestBridge National College Match: MacArthur’s Reem Abbas, Rice University; Irving’s Vickie Gillespie, Notre Dame; MacArthur’s Serra Marquez, Notre Dame; and Singley’s Gayda Mohamed, Brown.
    • MacArthur senior violinist Monica Limberg earns a chair in the Texas Music Educators Association’s All-State Orchestra.
    • Twenty-two Irving ISD high school students are named to the All-Region Choir.
    • Three student-athletes sign letters of intent on Early Signing Day to take their athletic talent to the collegiate level.

    January Icon


    • Irving ISD hosts its inaugural Spanish Spelling Bee for students in fourth through eighth grade. 
    • Houston Middle School is recognized as Irving ISD’s first school to achieve AVID National Demonstration status and Schoolwide Site of Distinction.

    February Icon


    • District facilities sustained minimal damage in the winter storms, thanks to our hardworking Facilities Services team.
    • Senior Mason Collett is the first MacArthur student in 19 years to earn a place in the Texas All-State Choir.
    • Our Campus Operations Team makes more than 1,000 home visits to students who have not shown up for school – whether in-person or remote. Thanks to a partnership with Irving Schools Foundation, students also receive food bags.
    • Houston Middle School is one of 13 in the state to be awarded the Lone Star State School Counselor Association Bronze Award.
    • Twelve Irving ISD student athletes sign letters of intent on National Signing Day to play at the collegiate level, and an additional 11 student athletes sign on different days.
    • The UIL names MacArthur girls’ basketball Coach Suzie Oelschlegel among the top 100 coaches in the state.

    March Icon


    • District is awarded a $150,000 grant from the Texas Education Agency to open a second collegiate academy in South Irving, which will follow the national P-TECH (Pathways to Technology Early College High School) model.
    • District will continue wearing masks and following COVD-19 guidelines.
    • Eighteen Irving ISD teams advance to the Destination Imagination state competition.
    • Two Nimitz students qualify for the Business Professionals of America national competition.
    • Two Irving High students are named Dell Scholars, Shelia Rodriguez and Selena Martinez

    April Icon Iamge


    • Irving ISD names Joselyn Castillo of John Haley Elementary School the District Elementary Teacher of the Year and Rashaad Calaham of Houston Middle School the District Secondary Teacher of the Year.
    • The Bilingual-ESL Education Association of the Metroplex (BEAM) recognizes two Irving ISD students and three teachers for their outstanding work in bilingual education. 
    • MacArthur High School freshman Deuce Monroe qualifies for the state regional golf tournament.
    • Kevon Bartlett of Nimitz and Dea’john Evans of MacArthur qualify for the state regional track meet.
    • Irving High School junior Nehemiah Ventura places fourth at the state regional wrestling meet and qualifies as an alternate for state competition. 

     May Icon Image


    • Seventeen students from Singley Academy earn an associate’s degrees through the Early College Start program and Dallas College.
    • Nimitz High School softball wins the District 7-6A championship and advances to the area round of the playoffs.
    • Andrea Keller, librarian at Lamar Middle School, is named a Top 30 K-12 IT Influencer by Ed Tech magazine.
    • The Irving ISD Class of 2021earns $43 million and counting in scholarships, boasts a 95 percent college acceptance rate and earns more than 30,000 volunteer hours.