• Library and Digital Resources Header

Adoption Policies and Procedures

State Adoption Process Overview

  • The State Board of Education (SBOE) creates an adoption cycle for subjects in the Foundation Curriculum to ensure the materials are reviewed once every eight years. Subjects in the Enrichment Curriculum may extend beyond eight years.

    The foundation curriculum subject areas are as follows:

    • English Language Arts and Reading
    • Mathematics
    • Science
    • Social Studies
    • Career and Technical Education
    • Fine Arts
    • Health Education
    • Languages other than English (LOTE)
    • Physical Education (PE)
    • Technology Applications

Enrichment Curriculum Subject Areas

  • Ancillary Materials

  • Development and Submission

  • Errors

  • Instructional Materials Adoption

  • Proclamations

  • Public Comment

  • Samples

  • Special Instructional Materials

  • State Adoption

  • State Review Panels